Department of Psychiatry

Psychiatry is a field of medical science dedicated to the diagnosis, prevention, management and treatment of mental, emotional and behavioural disorders. These disorders include maladaptations associated with a person’s mood, behaviour, perceptions and cognition. An initial psychiatric assessment typically involves the patient’s case history and a mental status examination. This may be followed by physical examinations and psychological tests. Some cases may require neuroimaging or other kinds of neurophysiological techniques. Each case is unique and will typically require a personalised treatment plan.

The Department of Psychiatry at Sagar Hospitals provides specialised and personal medical care and therapy for patients suffering from common and uncommon mental illnesses. The most common types of mental disorders that affect people are clinical depression, anxiety disorder, dementia, bipolar disorder, schizophrenia, attention deficit hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), obsessive compulsive disorder (OCD), post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and autism. The team of Psychiatrists heading the Department of Psychiatry at Sagar Hospitals comprises of highly skilled and experienced doctors who are trained in identifying and treating all kinds of mental illnesses.

Book an Appointment Book Tele-consultation